top of page
Search
  • maggieinecuador

March-April Post


Quito has led to a lot of changes including writing blog posts every two months. It’s not that I don’t have a lot to say. It’s just taking me more time to process my time here and put it into words. This will be an update on my last two months, my next two months, and what’s to come after my time in Ecuador.


Last two months, I have continued to work in the preschool classroom. Lots of nose and butt wiping. I love the little kids, but through this, I have learned I am not meant to be a preschool teacher. We spend time learning the vowels, coloring animals, and running around on the playground. It’s a fun and full day. I come back exhausted.

The afternoons consist of social work visits or helping out in the high school after school clubs. That’s been a fun way to connect with the high schoolers, who I usually don’t interact with. We’ve had a few retreat groups from the US to el Centro. It’s been great to finally host them as we did not get to in Guayaquil. We took them to Centro Historico to see the Basilica and the Jesuit church where the Center began its work. We went to Mitad del Mundo and stepped on the equator. It’s fun to have the groups visit my classroom. The little kids love giving hugs and playing with new people. I will be the leader of a group coming this month with Lilly. I am excited to accompany them through the whole week and experience different parts of Ecuador.











We finally moved into our house on campus at the beginning of March. It’s great to have my own space and to feel a little more settled. I have pictures of neighbors in Sinai on my wall to remind me everyday that their presence is still there in my life. It’s been a really hard adjustment for me being here away from the neighbors in Sinai. My day to day is just so different and I do miss the life I had there. I even find it hard to write this blog because each day looks the same.



Time in Quito has given us space to do different things outside of our community. We celebrated St. Patrick’s Day together and went to see an acapella show. We made March Madness brackets and watched just about every game together. It was a fun competition and I loved being able to watch so much basketball. That’s been fun to share in different experiences outside our neighborhood.















We celebrated Holy Week together starting with a Palm Sunday mass up in a neighborhood in the mountains. It is a small chapel made up of bamboo and metal pieces. We started with a procession down to the chapel with all the neighbors there. It felt like a community similar to Sinai, so I felt at peace there. On Good Friday, we went to the Old City and watched a huge parade. People dressed as Jesus carrying their own cross and wiping themselves. Large statues of Mary and Christ. I liked celebrating the day as a walk like Christ’s walk to Calvary, but I don’t believe our faith calls us to hurt ourselves in a way that Christ was hurt that day. Again, another experience in a different culture to learn and process. We went to Easter Vigil mass, my first one ever. It was a beautiful candlelit liturgy. I really appreciated its simplicity. We cooked a great brunch on Easter Sunday and played some games together. I am grateful to have spent the day together in a joyous way.

That next week, my mom came! It was so wonderful to have her here and meet my community. She came to my class one morning where she was attacked with little hugs. We went to the equator and the Old City. I even got her to ride a horse on the top of a mountain! No one could believe it! I was able to tell her a little bit about Sinai and how different Quito is. I am disappointed I was not able to show her my neighborhood and introduce her to people who mean so much to me, but I am so grateful to have spent time with her. She left, and the next week we both found out we had parasites. Not the best welcome home gift, but we were dealing with it together. #solidarity Her visit made me reflect about how much I miss my family and friends. I miss their support and their laughter. I was considering staying a second year, but I have decided to come back to the US to be closer to my friends and family and be filled by their presence in my life.



We went on a retreat last week. It was much needed space to process leaving Sinai and being here in Quito. I struggled the last two months greatly with my grief and I was not sure how to share that with my community. This weekend gave us space to begin to process it all and share how we are feeling about it all. I am grateful to Rostro for giving us these spaces to reflect and be together outside of our obligations. My community and I only have two more months together, and I want to be as committed to being a community than ever before. How can we show up for one another when none of us are our best selves right now? It's important to me that I have their support and they know they have mine. The next two months are going to be so busy with retreat groups and other visitors. I am scared the time will fly with no intentionality.

Last weekend, we were able to bring Monica, Maurico, Angie, and Samuel to Quito! It was amazing to be with them again. We went to Old City with them, played volleyball, and just talked. It felt like I had my family here. No matter how far apart we are, we know that we hold each other close in our hearts. It was so beautiful to share Quito with the people that mean the most to us from Guayaquil. Lots of hugs and a few tears when they left, but I am so grateful to have that experience with them.




These two months have been very difficult adjusting to a new life and really missing Guayaquil. I want to make the best out of the two remaining months. I'm sure it will hold challenges as well as many joys. I am beginning to reflect on my whole time in Ecuador and how grateful I am for it all. Do I wish it went differently? Yes, but I think I will be learning from this experience for years to come. I am now in the process of figuring out what's next, which is very exciting! I will keep you posted on that! I am looking forward to many things. Retreat groups, time with my community, recess with the preschoolers, meeting Quinn and Maeve, being with my friends, seeing my new house, supporting my sister in her senior year. There's a lot to be grateful for and a lot to look forward to doing. Please keep my community in your prayers as we navigate our last few months and all that is holds for us.



70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

May

bottom of page